A last-minute “to read” list

The last week at home is filled with family-time, I get it. But if you’re looking for something else to pass the time, stop watching the Bachelor, and curl up with one of these. I loved each of them this break.

New York Regional Mormon Singles’ Halloween Dance–an honest story. You don’t need to know  the Mormon inside jokes to “get it,” but it helps. I love the voice of Elna Baker: a real-life NYC Mormon comedian who grapples with real questions of identity.

People of the Book–intriguing, history-filled. Beautiful writing. Enchanting, spellbinding plot.

God in the Dock–a compilation of essays and articles by the infamous CS Lewis. A book to be read in small, meditative doses.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies–blech! so far, I read a few chapters and I cannot wrap my mind around the characters, this premise and all the ‘slayings.’ Then again, took me till Book 3 to actually ‘enjoy’ Harry Potter, so maybe I’m preemptive in delivering this judgment. I’m reading this book after a challenge from a friend: do not worry! I will fulfill the challenge!

The Gift of the Magi–favorite holiday story of all time. Oh my goodness. If you do not know what this is, it is a short story by O.Henry and it is amazing. And did I mention it’s very short. Go google it and READ it! You can find it online for free.

More reading later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

