I worry I may be too unclear

I believe I could benefit from this beautiful book: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703766704576009540219126236.html?KEYWORDS=farnsworth+classical+english+rhetoric

My writing ‘weakness’ is that I often have too much awareness of rhetorical use. I am too flowery for clear communication. I talk in circles, and say things 5 times that could be clearly and concisely said in a few words. I wish I had the power of journalistic writing. But I am too self-conscious for it.

Perhaps a perusal of this book is a dose of what I need–with the flavor of Emerson, Shakespeare and Dickens (hah, who ever said he was concise?) thrown in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Capricious

Leave a Reply

